Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

It can never be said enough: the weekend goes by much too quickly. Friday night brought a dinner-and-a-movie date that was a nice respite from school work. My boyfriend and I went to a local ale house for some great burgers and then came home to watch Black Swan (I enjoyed it, poor Blaine was a little freaked out).

And then…Saturday’s a rugby day!! My club team played our last game of the regular season this weekend; it was a tough loss but we all had a great time, as always. The rest of the day/night consisted of rugby and St. Patrick’s day festivities, which brings us to today!

Happy St. Patrick’s day! I rocked my Ireland rugby jersey and shamrock earrings this weekend, they were a big crowd pleaser. Blaine and I went to our favorite local restaurant for breakfast this morning and boy were we satisfied. I had the St. Patty’s day special which consisted of two eggs (scrambled with cheese), bacon, Irish soda bread, and fresh fruit.

mmmm mmmm good!

mmmm mmmm good!

I ate every last bit. After a full day volunteering at Paws4Ever, a wonderful no-kill animal shelter, and working on homework, it was time for Southern Living Sunday! Tonight’s recipe was Chicken Chimichangas. My mom makes some great chimichangas so I thought I’d try my hand at them this evening. It was such a simple process-throw 5 ingredients in a pot and then pop ’em in the oven!

So simple, so good!

So simple, so good!

For the picante sauce, I used some Archer Farms salsa from Target since I already had it but that’s the only change I made. These chimichangas were amazing!! I loved every last bite and I think Blaine ate about four. I’ll definitely make it again and will only make one adjustment: more cheese! The recipe calls for two tablespoons of shredded cheddar but as a cheese lover I’ll definitely add more next time.

TV dinners are oddly satisfying

TV dinners are oddly satisfying

We enjoyed our chimichangas with some yellow rice and an episode of House Hunters. What a great dinner.

2 thoughts on “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Wanna chime in?

