Dogs and Babies

I have a million different reasons for why I love Florida so much and one of them is this handsome pup:

Hi I am a dog!

Hi I am a dog!

His name is Maverick and we’re best friends. Blaine lives near beautiful Mt. Dora and since the weather today was in the low 70’s and I’ve always wanted to own a dog, I suggested we take Mav for a walk around the lake. The three of us piled into the ‘burb and rode windows down into town. Maverick is an older fella so we were a bit worried about his stamina, plus he rarely walks on a leash and we weren’t sure how quickly he’d get tired of that.  He was a real trooper though and to reward him for all his patience and good behavior we went to Piglet’s Pantry, a locally owned pet treat bakery.

They make treats for both cats and dogs

They make treats for both cats and dogs

We bought Maverick a peanut butter biscotti and a fetchin’ stick, which we heard was a big crowd pleaser (I’m not quite sure what the fetchin’ stick is made from, but Mav enjoyed it!). Judging by his face, I think he liked it:

*drooooool*

*drooooool*

After walking around town for a bit, we headed back home to whip up some lunch before heading over to Blaine’s running buddy’s house. I have to hand it to Blaine, he is a bit of a whiz in the kitchen.  I still had some left over cajun shrimp pasta from boy’s weekend, but wasn’t really in the mood for all of that Old Bay. Blaine offered to see what he could do with it and I happily accepted.  Lunch with no work? Yes please!

He put a little olive oil in a pan and cooked up the leftovers straight from the box. Then he added in some select mystery seasonings, let it heat up, and slid it onto a bowl for me, Food Network Star style.

Le Chef

Le Chef

I liked it better the second time around, although once all the shrimp were gone I wasn’t too keen on the veggies

Take 2

Take 2

Once we polished off lunch, we headed over to Blaine’s friend’s house to visit with her and her adorable baby boy. It was so much fun to hang out with them and the little guy is the happiest baby I’ve ever met! All smiles and hair and smooth dance moves.  He is about 5 months old so he’s past the point where I’m scared to touch babies and hasn’t reached the point where babies just make loud noises. In other words, he’s the perfect little one. It was really great just shootin’ the breeze out on the porch on such a beautiful day and I was a little sad when it was time to leave.

The next big thing on our list? DISNEY tomorrow! I’m so excited I can barely stand it. I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve night. With an early morning tomorrow it’s time to catch some Z’s!

Wanna chime in?

