Oops

I’ve made a huge mistake. I went all day today without taking any pictures! Sorry for the blocks of text! 

Today started off fairly early when I finally dragged myself out of bed to go for a run. I only went 4 miles today to gauge how it felt and to figure out how the rest of my ‘training plan’ would go before the half marathon next Sunday.  I know, I’m in a terrible position to be running a half in less than 2 weeks. My run turned out a little something like this: Image

Not awful, but could be better.  Because this race will be my first-ever half marathon, I’m not putting too much pressure on myself for time, I just want it to be fun. I’m thinking a run/walk approach may be the best considering my state of training, so we’ll see how the next two weeks turn out. 

After my run I straightened up a little and headed to the airport to pick up Blaine. Hooray!! I’m happy to have him back 🙂 Here’s an old picture to capture our happinessImage

His sister works near the airport, so we killed time at the Southpoint Mall before meeting her for an early dinner. We had no problem boppin’ around, they have practically every store imaginable there! My favorites were Madewell, William Sonoma, and the cute kitchen stuff in Anthropologie. We didn’t buy anything though, that whole broke college kid thing isn’t a myth. 

We met Sam at Firebirds and ordered light meals (a travesty I didn’t take pictures!) since I planned on sharing some dessert after dinner.  I ordered the mixed greens salad, which was good but I forgot to ask for them to hold the onions. Blaine ordered the coconut shrimp appetizer and polished it off in record time while Sam had the Colorado chicken salad. It was all very good but the winner was definitely the big daddy chocolate cake! They aren’t kidding with the ‘big daddy’ part. I was very grateful I was sharing it with two other people. It was exactly what I was looking for; a rich, moist cake with a little vanilla ice cream to balance it out. Mmmm mmmm good!

Now to get some last minute work done before classes start up tomorrow, how very bittersweet. 

2 thoughts on “Oops

  1. I wonder why the rich chocolate cake with ice cream was so appealing to you on this particular day? Was it as good as Nana’s?

Wanna chime in?

