Drumroll, Please!

Exciting news!  Today I received my results from the Strong career aptitude test and I’m really happy with the results! I’ve been really out of sorts since I started questioning what I wanted to do and I’m hoping now that I have a goal in mind I’ll be able to get it back together. My top 4 results were: recreational therapist, bartender (what do you think, Mom?),  occupational therapist, and physical therapist.  Apparently my original major was right on track!

I really like the idea of recreational therapy because I can start working directly out of school instead of immediately going through the graduate school process. It’s a very hands-on job, which I love, and it seems like I can pick a niche like working in a nursing home or with mentally or physically disabled patients. There are a lot of different options and I think it’ll be a great opportunity to save up some money and decide if grad school still appeals to me. Yay for having a plan!

After classes and a brief stint selling shirts for a Little Pink Houses of Hope fundraiser, I got to hang out with this guy!

Power stance

Power stance

Meet Charlie! He’s a former shelter dog who now lives near campus with a great older couple.  He’s still quite skittish from his time in the shelter but I’ve definitely seen improvement since I started walking him in the fall. The biggest issue we have is halfway through his walk, when he realizes we’re headed back home, he pulls so much and so hard that by the time we get back my arms and shoulders ache.  Nothing I do seems to help and he doesn’t eat in front of people so I can’t try and offer treats for staying next to me. Any tips out there?

For a workout this afternoon I ran two miles, did sprint intervals for about two miles, and did a mile cool down. It felt pretty good! I’m getting excited for this half marathon. I did almost all of my workout on the school’s track and at first I thought I would get bored running a million laps, but I got into a nice zone and it worked well. And now off for some much needed sleep!

Wanna chime in?

