Cravings

The past 15 hours or so have been full of cravings for me. When the weather starts getting warm (86 yesterday, 82 today wahoo!!!!) my imagination goes crazy and I always set out a million new plans for myself. Last night Blaine and I went to Dick’s Sporting Goods to look at some casual tennis shoes for Blaine.  Looking at work out gear never ends cheaply for me, but with the warm weather and the impending half marathon, I found myself lusting after more merchandise than normal. Like these Pilates bands! 

I’ve never really been into any exercise classes like that, but all the sudden it really struck my fancy. Anybody out there a Pilates fan? I think I might try a class at my university’s gym and see how that goes.

After grocery shopping for cake supplies (Blaine’s birthday is tomorrow and I am way too excited.  I love birthdays!) we came home to make a quick dinner. Blaine whipped a Trader Joe’s ‘mixed grain with garden vegetable’ frozen dinner.  We usually prefer to cook from scratch, but we’d heard good things about this dinner so we gave it a whirl.  Blaine also added some basil pesto sausage which was killer good.

Stole this image from simplyshaka.wordpress.com

I really enjoyed the dinner, but it would not have been the same without that sausage.  mmm mmm good!

Finished product

Finished product

All those grains last night really had me in the mood for oatmeal this morning.  Since I didn’t have any of the classic Quaker, I pulled out my McCann’s Irish Oats to see how much work that would involve. In hindsight I probably should’ve made an overnight oat recipe like this one, which I’ve been dying to try out. Since I missed the overnight oat boat, I decided to make classic Irish oatmeal and add some walnuts and honey to the bowl.

Waking up early pays off!

Waking up early pays off!

This bowl was made extra special because my mom sent me some fancy Italian honey, which I was very gracious with 🙂

Fancy honey!

Fancy honey!

Off to conquer the rest of the day!

Wanna chime in?

