Maxin’ and Relaxin’

There is no better way to start summer vacation than with this view:

It was a little cloudy, but stunning nonetheless!

It was a little cloudy, but stunning nonetheless!

I tried to set an alarm for myself this morning so I wouldn’t mess up my sleeping schedule (despite going to bed at 9 p.m  8:30) but I forgot to change the timezone on my phone and my mom ended up waking me at around 11. Yikes! She quickly got me up and movin’ with one of her deeelicious cappuccinos, made on a Starbucks cappuccino maker.

Looove Mama's cappuccinos!

Looove Mama’s cappuccinos!

I then did what I’ve been dreaming of since about mid-February: I sat outside and read.  It was absolutely heavenly to sit in the sun for hours on end and read my book after last week’s endless study sessions. Mom even surprised me and my brother with a little appetizer tray around 4:30!

Prosecco with White-Cran peach juice (modified Bellini) and classic guac

Prosecco with White-Cran peach juice (modified Bellini) and classic guac

This is Laura! She's our neighbor's dog but comes and visits sometimes.  Please excuse my rough and tumble appearance, I'd been out in the sun for hours!

This is Laura! She’s our neighbor’s dog but comes and visits sometimes. Please excuse my rough and tumble appearance, I’d been out in the sun for hours!

 

It was a fantastic afternoon, followed by a great dinner in town.  We picked up my mom’s friend, who lives right next door, and drove a few minutes into town to get pizza.  We would’ve walked but the forecast was calling for rain, and boy is it comin’ down now! The food was really good and I enjoyed the company and catching up with my mom and brother a little bit more. Some of the pizzas even came in fun shapes like stars, suns, and racquets!

My brother's pizza.  Can you tell what it is?

My brother’s pizza. Can you tell what it is?

Now it’s time to read some more and get ready for our trip to Germany tomorrow!

 

Wanna chime in?

