Museo Archeologico Nazionale

I’ll get to the awesome archeological museum in a moment, but first let me complain about the cinnamon rolls. I spent hours on these guys. I’m talkin 5 hours at the least.  And this is what I get in return for my labor:

Flat, not doughy suger-cinnamon-butter chunks. Booo

Flat, not doughy suger-cinnamon-butter chunks. Booo

The dough was the problem so I either (a) didn’t have the milk-and-water mixture hot enough when I added the yeast or (b) the yeast didn’t do its thang.  I’m betting on the first one, even though I used a thermometer.  I’m pretty bummed this recipe wasn’t really a success because it took a lot of work and it would’ve been nice to eat the spoils of my effort.  Alas.  They’re still edible just not so fluffy.

Moving on to better things! Today we visited the Museo Archeologico Nazionale and it was SO COOL.  We didn’t spend tooo much time there, although I’m sure you could spend hours wandering around looking at everything.  Tickets cost 8 euros, an extra 3.50, I believe, for an audio guide.

Slightly worrisome..

Slightly worrisome..

There were sculptures on sculptures on sculptures, which I loooved. And look how massive they are! These giant works of art will never fail to impress me.

Massive statues!

Massive statues!

We wandered around the museum for about an hour and a half, trying to wrap our heads around the fact that some of the things we were seeing were from the 2nd century.  The second century. Yeah it still doesn’t quite seem real. It was rainy and windy today, so it was nice being inside the museum, safe from the elements.  There’s an open courtyard in the middle of the museum that was full of more marble art and my brother captured this awesome picture:

Quinlan is obviously a better photographer.  Isn't this surreal?

Quinlan is obviously a better photographer. Isn’t this surreal?

After we decided we were done at the museum, we popped across the street to Cafe Professore (or something along those lines) for a pick-me-up of cornetti and cappuccini before getting on the train back home.  The cold, rainy weather made a perfect cappuccino day, and I thoroughly enjoyed mine.

It tasted like there was a little bit of chocolate powder on top.  Mmm mmm good :)

It tasted like there was a little bit of chocolate powder on top. Mmm mmm good 🙂

A question for you: With the sheer number of photos I’ve taken between Germany and Italy, I’m considering making a travel page that’ll link to my travel posts and will also contain more pictures.  Would that be interesting or simply over-sharing for you guys?

3 thoughts on “Museo Archeologico Nazionale

    • After looking at your page, my photos definitely won’t be on par to yours! But thank you for your input, I think it might fill out my visits a little better than my posts alone can 🙂

  1. Pingback: Museum + Pompeii | mouthguardsandmagnolias

Wanna chime in?

