I Would Walk 500 Miles

Except I already did.  Today we visited the Parco Reggia di Caserta.  It was gorgeous. We visited the actually palace back in August when we first moved here, but I had completely forgotten so when we walked out of the parking garage I was just as impressed as I was the first time I saw the great face of the palace.

Pretty dang incredible.  I was glad we already saw the inside of the palace because we walked around the grounds for about 4 hours and I can’t imagine touring the rooms as well.  It was a beautiful day for a stroll outside, although our dogs were barkin’ by the end of it! We didn’t realize you could rent bikes at the entrance; it would’ve been very enjoyable to ride around all the paths, although there were some steep uphill stretches.  The whole place was one giant photo op

You can walk alll the up to the middle of that hill in the background, where the white path stops.

You can walk alll the way up to the middle of that hill in the background, where the white path stops.

These jewels are everywhere in the wooded paths

These jewels are everywhere in the wooded paths

The main draw for me was the English Garden that was at the end of the walk, but I actually enjoyed walking around the grounds more than I enjoyed walking around the garden.  Maybe because I was tired at that point, maybe because the grounds offered views like this!

Happy fam, only about mid-way through the walk!

Happy fam, only about mid-way through the walk!

At the very top of the hill right before the entrance to the English Garden was this amazing fountain depicting the myth where the hunter Actaeon spied on Artemis bathing in the woods.  Offended, Artemis turned him into a stag and sent his own hunting dogs on him

Crazy cool

Crazy cool

Because the English Garden was built in the late 18th century, it reflected the English style of the garden as part of the landscape as a whole.  Despite this wish to parallel nature, or perhaps because of it, the architects included fake ruins in the garden, as well as trees and plants growing naturally.  I had a bit more fun with these fake ruins than my brother did, it seems.

"Hey Quin we can make our own arch!!"

“Hey Quin we can make our own arch!!”

All in all it was a great and beautiful day! There’s a student discount for tickets (half price, whoo hoo!), and I highly recommend renting a bike as well.  You could make a whole day of it and pack a lunch to eat on the grounds, or just go for a few hours.  The views were incredible and I will be going back with friends!

Parting shot.  Look at all those water features!

Parting shot. Look at all those water features!

One thought on “I Would Walk 500 Miles

  1. Pingback: Biking in Reggia di Caserta | mouthguardsandmagnolias

Wanna chime in?

