France Day 1: Giverny

Now that I’ve gotten my complaints over with, it’s time to talk about the fun stuff! We headed out of the airport in our fancy rental Peugeot, off to Giverny, home to Claude Monet’s house and garden.  Apparently, he passed by Giverny on a train ride one day and decided it would be the perfect place to settle down. He was right.

Monet's pink stucco house

Monet’s pink stucco house

I was surprised at the location of the house, although I don’t really know what I was expecting.  We walked down a scenic little street, the Museum of Impressions placed across from a beautiful cafe and next to a soap shop.  A little further down was the ticket booth for the house and gardens, a surprisingly nondescript entrance for such beautiful grounds.

We hit the main garden and the Japanese Garden first, and finished with a quick tour of the house.  I absolutely loved the main garden, and could not stop snapping pictures.

The weather was gorgeous for our visit!

The weather was gorgeous for our visit!

Something in the garden got to my dad and he hasn’t stopped sneezing since.  Poor guy 😦

Hopefully it wasn't these guys.  They were so big and fluffy I wanted to lay my head down!

Hopefully it wasn’t these guys. They were so big and fluffy I wanted to lay my head down!

The Japanese Garden was jam packed, and although it was definitely impressive and neat to see the inspiration for so many of Monet’s paintings, the main garden stole the show for me.  There were these teensy frogs in the water in the Japanese Garden that made hilariously loud noises.  They were my favorite part, aside from these GIANT red flowers.  They grew about 3 feet tall and the flower itself probably had around a 6 inch diameter.  It was incredible.

My favorite flower

My favorite flower

View from the back of the garden looking onto the famous bridge

View from the back of the garden looking onto the famous bridge

The bridge itself

The bridge itself

No pictures were allowed inside the house, but it was a really neat place.  A little smaller than I expected, it was neat to see the place where Monet entertained guests like Renoir. Hard to imagine walking in the same space so many great artists did!

When we finished up at the museum, it was just short of 6 o’clock, so we headed to our bed and breakfast to get settled in. I was floored by our B&B, Moulin du Bechet.  It was completely picturesque with very friendly staff and, according to my parents, a good price for lodging.  I’m sad we only stayed there one night!

Where Quin and I stayed

Where Quin and I stayed

It was a very short ride from the gardens to Moulin du Bechet, and there was plenty of room to go for an easy run in the morning (which I did not do).  There were also tennis courts at the back of the property and a place to play bocce ball. I absolutely loved it.

Where my parents stayed

Where my parents stayed

A view of the river that ran behind our room

A view of the river that ran behind our room

We ate at the B&B’s restaurant that night and it was amazing. I don’t remember the names of anything, but to start I had an appetizer that consisted of grilled veggies (zucchini, eggplant, tomato) on a crunchy puff pastry type thing, with a little goat cheese and salad

I'm usually not a huge fan of goat cheese, but this stuff was tasty!

I’m usually not a huge fan of goat cheese, but this stuff was tasty!

We were also served a mushroom soup at the beginning of the meal.  It reminded me of miso soup and I liked it, except for the cilantro

IMG_3387

Sorry it’s sideways! Just tilt your head a little 🙂

For my main meal I had veal in a ginger sauce with sweet potato, carrots, and parsnip.  That sauce was on point.

I ate everything.  It was so stinkin' good

I ate everything. It was so stinkin’ good

And the grand finale was dessert! I didn’t really know what I ordered because I just ordered the menu of the day, but I was treated with this beauty of a dish at the end of the night

The round pink things tasted like a mix between strawberry ice cream and yogurt

The round pink things tasted like a mix between strawberry ice cream and yogurt

It was really good! The strawberries and raspberries were very fresh, the ice cream drops had real strawberries in them, and the whip cream was unbelievable.  I left the table stuffed and happy.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “France Day 1: Giverny

  1. Pingback: France Day 2: Bayeux | mouthguardsandmagnolias

Wanna chime in?

