Private Pool Partay!

Today was a family picnic for my dad’s unit, which meant free food and a day at the pool for me and Quin.  Quin and I were probably the oldest kids in attendance, so we did not feel guilty in the least for eating and dippin’ out.  Free food included hot dogs, hamburgers, baked beans, and macaroni salad, but we didn’t eat very much at the picnic; my appetite tends to flatline when the weather warms up. Plus we were eager to get to the pool!

I tried to be good about using sunscreen since it was so hot today, and I think I managed to make it through the day without a burn! The pool had a really fun water slide and Quin and I were speedin’ down that baby by the end of our afternoon. Image

When we got home, we relaxed for a bit, then I picked up “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain“, an instructional drawing book. I’m trying to get to a point where my drawing is decent because an art portfolio is required for most of the graduate schools I plan on applying to, and this book got a lot of good reviews. I haven’t made it to any of the actual exercises yet and I’m already 40 pages in, so I’m anxious for the action to start!

A question for you: Do you have any tips or tricks for improving art skills? Or is there a skill you’ve been working on lately? I’d love to hear your stories! 

Wanna chime in?

