Crazy Birthday Dinner

Last night my family went out to eat at a place called Panart because it was my parent’s friend’s birthday.  This dinner party/gathering was a surprise to her, as was its theme: a wake.  Her husband threw this surprise party for her, complete with a coffin in which she was supposed to lay as people said eulogies. Isn’t that crazy?? If my husband made me get in a coffin, carried me around a restaurant, and talked about me like I was dead for my 50th birthday, we would be in a fight. Big time.  Luckily Quin and I were able to stay out of it and just got a table for ourselves while our parents begrudgingly participated in the ‘celebration’.  The lady took it like a champ and they’re still married as of this morning, so that’s a good sign.

I overheard a lady saying this place used to be an old stables. It was really cool and had a great wait staff

I overheard a lady saying this place used to be an old stables. It was really cool and had a great wait staff

The food was really good, in other news.  I ordered a risotto with carrots, mushrooms, peppers, and zucchini and it was delish! I’m not usually a huge mushroom fan, but I’ve been trying to like them because I don’t want to limit all my crazy eating options here in Italy just because of one ingredient.

It was a winner!

It was a winner!

For dinner I ordered cheesecake with strawberries. It was just aiight, not awesome but I didn’t regret ordering it either.

Sorry for the lighting, we were dining al fresco and there wasn't a lot of light!

Sorry for the lighting, we were dining al fresco and there wasn’t a lot of light!

Quin and I killed the rest of the night by watching some of the Brazil-Italy soccer game.  Fun stuff!

Today we got a late start and headed to Capodimonte around 1:00 to see some of the art in the old palace. We arrived around 1:30 and found out that if you buy your ticket after 2:00, you save a euro per ticket.  So we walked around the palace courtyard and peeked at the surrounding gardens while waiting for 2:00 to roll around.

Havin' fun waiting!

Havin’ fun waiting!

The view from the palace courtyard to the gardens

The view from the palace courtyard to the gardens

The museum was huge but had some truly amazing pieces of art inside.  My dad was especially excited about this Carvaggio painting:

Very impressive! We spent about 2 hours at the museum and then headed home to get ready for the upcoming week.  Blaine arrives Tuesday morning and I couldn’t be more excited!

Wanna chime in?

