Ravello-ohhh

Yesterday Mom, Quin, Blaine and I went on a great day trip to Ravello.  It’s about an hour and a half away, but it’s full of great views and ‘fun’ switchbacks. When we first arrived, we made a quick stop for the necessary provisions: cappuccini and pastries!

IMG_0577

I love me some cappuccini. After fueling up, we headed straight to the Ravello garden, which was amaaazing. Ravello hosts an art and music festival during the summer, so the garden was all set up for concerts. I couldn’t imagine going to a concert with the mountains and the sea as a backdrop.

IMG_3616The garden had some really beautiful plants, but it was mostly the view that made it so great.  We spent a lot more time than we had originally intended wandering around the small area.

IMG_3628Blaine let me play with his awesome new Nikon camera, but my iPhoto didn’t want to convert the photos so I don’t have any to share with you all 😦 Maybe next time!!

After enjoying the garden we headed to the church that was right across the piazza.  The church is incredible because it still has some Byzantine structures inside!

IMG_3630There are two large lecterns that are from the Byzantine era, complete with gold mosaic and lion-shaped column bearers. We didn’t spend long there, but it was impressive nonetheless. Only the boys and I went in the church, my mom got a head start on some ceramic shopping and we met her there afterwards. Momma bought me a beautiful little olive oil container for my birthday! So I have to wait 6 months to get it, but still.  I’m gettin’ it! The ceramics were stunning, but then again, I’m also a sucker for ceramics soooo.

We hit a pizzeria for a quick lunch and I strayed from my normal eggplant pizza choice to try a potato and sausage pizza.  It was pretty yummy, but I prefer my eggplant!

IMG_0578

 

 

 

Wanna chime in?

