Cruisin’ the Coast

A 5:15 wakeup call courtesy of thunder kicked off yesterday’s odd weather. It was a huge thunderstorm, and while I’m usually all for them, Saturday’s storm actually made me jump a few times. Not the most relaxing way to start your weekend! Fortunately, we had to get up early anyway because we were going on a mini cruise! We had purchased tickets through the USO to take a ferry boat from Castellammare down past Sorrento to Positano and Amalfi.  The ferry offers a stop at Positano and a stop at Amalfi and our group (Me, Quin, Blaine) decided to explore Amalfi since Q and I have been to Positano a few times. I didn’t take my camera on the boat because there are swim calls during the ride and I didn’t feel comfortable leaving it unattended on the boat.

We were a little worried when we first started the cruise because it was still raining a bit and sitting in the cabin was making me a little seasick.  My brother made friends with our ‘guide’ Roberto, and he wasn’t really feelin’ the cabin either.  Luckily the sun came out and we moved to the upper deck, which was a better situation for all.

We stopped for a swim call in between Capri and Positano, which is my favorite part of the cruise.  They lower some stairs into the water, but it’s more fun to jump off the platform on the side! The water is so salty, it’s the only place in the world where I can actually back float. We swam around the boat for about half an hour and then hopped back on to continue on our way.

When we got to Amalfi, the first thing we did was tour the church there.  It is incredibly beautiful.

It was relatively small so it didn’t take us too long, but it was in amazing condition and the art and architecture of the cathedral really succeeds in moving your soul. After our little tour, we wandered the streets looking for gifts for Blaine’s family and Quin’s girlfriend.  Quin succeeded with a cute little ceramic octopus and a citrus perfume, but Blaine didn’t find anything that suited his fancy 😦 Next time!

We only had about 2 hours in the city, so we grabbed a quick granita, which is like a slushie, and then headed back to the harbor to catch our boat.  While we were waiting we watched a couple of guys playing water polo in kayaks! I had never seen that before and it was really fun to watch the pickup game.

Our ride home was a little choppier as another wave of rain passed over the boat.  The water was rough and sitting under the cabin again made me reaaally uncomfortable.  I thought I actually was going to get sea sick, but then the rain stopped and we moved up top again, so I dodged that bullet! Thank goodness. After a 14 hour day and some rough seas, we finally made it back home and I was quite grateful to be sitting on my very stable and unmoving couch.

We watched the movie Stand By Me last night, which Blaine and I had never seen.  I really liked it! I’m not sure about Blaine, I think he fell asleep for a bit 😛 But it was a really cute story about four 12 year old boys who were learning about their place in the world and were finding out who they were; your basic coming of age story. It’s based on a book by Stephen King and is a great watch.

 

Wanna chime in?

